Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

The Demon Slayer Video Game: All You Need to Know

In the last few years, Demon Slayer has become quite the phenomenon. It became the tenth highest-selling manga series ever in February 2021, its 26-episode anime adaptation has received critical acclaim, and its theatrical motion picture Demon Slayer: Mugen Train became the highest-grossing film of 2020. The second season of the anime is expected to be released in late 2021, and what better way to hype it up than a video game?

The Demon Slayer
Courtesy of CyberConnect2

CyberConnect2, the studio responsible for Asura’s Wrath and the Naruto: Ninja Storm series, will be developing Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles for consoles and PC. The game’s story mode will adapt moments from the first two story arcs, which have already been adapted into the anime’s first season and Demon Slayer: Mugen Train.

Demon Slayer tells the story of Tanjiro Kamado, a young boy whose family is slaughtered by demons with the exception of his eldest sister, Nezuko, who irrevocably becomes a demon. With Nezuko by his side, Tanjiro sets out on a quest to join the Demon Slayer Corps, find the one that cursed his sister, and change her back to her human form. Along the way, Tanjiro encounters many other beings that challenge his strength, but his bond with Nezuko drives him to fight on to victory no matter the bones he breaks and blood he sheds.

Besides the single-player adventure mode, Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles will also include a versus mode for local and online multiplayer. Each player will be able to choose a team of two characters from a roster containing several members of the Demon Slayer Corps, including Tanjiro and Nezuko’s traveling companions Inosuke Hashibira and Zenitsu Agatsuma. Players will get to fight as constituents of the Hashira, the strongest combatants of the Demon Slayer Corps. 

Each of these characters has a unique fighting style pertaining to their Breathing Technique, which draws from certain elements such as fire and water. Tanjiro’s Breathing Technique is simply called “Hinokami Kagura” and has taken the forms of both fire and water on different occasions. Tanjiro’s capabilities might be overwhelming for the other fighters, but I’m sure that the makers of Naruto: Ninja Storm know how to balance out an overpowered main character.

Demon Slayer: The Hinokami Chronicles is set to release on October 15 2021 for Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, PS4, PS5, and PC.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

You'll also like

Subscribe to our news letter